Clifford Primary School

Clifford Primary School


Beginning school is a major event in the life of a four-year-old and their parents. Children at Clifford settle in very quickly. At Clifford our aim is to provide a happy, stimulating and caring environment for children where every child is treated as unique and therefore, feels valued, secure and confident to develop a love of learning. We support each unique child by recognising and respecting the children’s individual characteristics and temperament by getting to know the child through sensitive observations. We aim to recognise and celebrate the success in everyone.


 Foundation Stage curriculum

At Clifford we believe that children learn better when they feel safe and secure. As we have a small reception class we are able to carefully plan opportunities for each individual to learn and achieve their full potential. By giving the children opportunities for ‘free play’ they are able to take control of their own learning and development. We also provide opportunities to have adult led and child initiated activities that are tailored to the child’s individual learning styles.

 While we plan closely in accordance to the Early Learning Goals there are also opportunities for our more-able children to be suitably stretched within the various areas of learning.

 There has been a new statutory framework for Early Years since September 2012. The information below is taken from the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage from the Department of Education.

 There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programs in early years’ settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• Communication and language;

  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.


Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

An excellent guide for Parents, take a look at -  Welcome to Clifford Primary School